top of page

GX7 Modulus Recon MKII gun camera project


After channeling much inspiration from the russian dude who built his camera gun out of a Dragunov/Tigr sniper rifle buttstock. I decided to find a cheaper way to build mine and make it look way cooler. The problem is a polymer Tigr buttstock costs RM800 (not counting the other add-on parts), A Bushhawk costs RM1000K+ and the Sharpshooter costs RM1,200. I needed a cheaper solution that would be a fun project and where I had a say in the look and ergonomics. Another problem in a lot of the other more expensive systems, the camera sits high above the trigger and stock assembly and it doesn't look right. I wanted to place the camera within the gun and make it a part of the gun. Why NERF? It is the go to toy gun for Hollywood propmasters, After the kiddy garish colours are painted over in gun metal and weathered this will make it WAY MORE BADASS than the mother of all gun camera platforms, the KGB Fotosnaiper! Anyway this is my progress thus far, this was an old NERF gun I used to fool around at my old NST office. Another issue was adding on weight, with commercial setups made of polymer I'd still be adding some weight unlike the superlight NERF! Tools 1 longass philips head screwdriver (don't ask me the size) 1 Tactix box cutter knife 1 spray can matt black paint 1 spray can silver paint for weathering 1 Soteck PVC Tube saw 1 sharpie marker pen to mark out cut points 1 Tactix heavy duty scissors Cable ties of various sizes I have gotten the seating of the camera just right, the viewfinder lines up great to my right eye (sniper rifle eyecup extender to be added in future) and will make sense to add a sniper cheekpad on the rear adjustable stock. Another reason I chose the Recon MKII is that a regular M4 stock can work with its stock tube. But for the moment am going with the NERF's original stock. Tomorrow I will paint it up to match my GX7. My shutter trigger will be a JJC I'm gonna rig up to the guns trigger then add in picatinny rail slots below for a foregrip and a top rail for a manfrotto R232 to hook up to the camera where i've cut out the plastic from the original body. iShoot adapter rail system is ziptied to gun body and an Andoer quick detach tripod mount went on that completing the setup. I went with the Andoer finally over the more expensive Manfrotto R323. A then got a Tac Vector Optics 38mm scope eye cup so that I don't have to lean towards the EVF but bring the EVF to me. PROJECT COMPLETION DATE: 10/10/16 COMPLETED GUN CAM BELOW

Project Expenditure: NERF GUN (Pre-owned) - RM169 (Toys R Us) iShoot Quick Release plate QS-220 - RM179.42 (Free shipping from HK) JJC pistol shutter trigger - RM146.61 (Inclusive shipping) Andoer quick release tripod adapter - RM53.65 Tac Vector Optics 38mm sniper scope eyecup - RM16.67 Chinese Manfrotto R323 type quick detach adapter - RM30.50 (Free Shipping China)

Mini Tripod - RM5.06 (Free shipping from HK)

© 2016 By Pravin Menon Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page